My Great Thoughts on Dieting: College Girl Perspective

1. I would rather have half a cookie from Whole Foods, rather than eat those 100 calorie packs or a Luna bar with more than 200 calories.  It is exactly the same amount of calories, but I feel like I’m eating some processed crap.  I would rather indulge in some really great and homemade good rather than some protein bar that tastes like weird chemically chocolate.  That’s why I never buy those bars as a meal replacer.  Why not eat actual chicken with some great seasoning then a small measly bar??

2. I hate the fact that I have to eat 5 meals a day and around 200-300 calories.  I hate feeling unsatisfied after I eat, because that just makes me think about food for the next hours and I am not a happy camper when I am hungry.  I would rather sit down and eat a big meal with a little bit of everything: meat, salad, bread, and dessert with a lot of tea, rather than eat like a five year old child who needs snacks ever so often.  I ate what is above in the picture for dinner today (not the whole dessert though, just pieces) and it is about 700-800 calories.  It lasts me from 5-7 hours.  And I still lost 1.5 pounds in 3 days.  Yayuh.

3. I hate guys.  When I go to the dining hall, I make sure that my proportions are small, and I try to eat the healthiest food.  Then, I look around and I see that the guys are eating pizza, and then lasagna, and maybe some ribs, and no salad.  And then I see that they are skinnier than me.  Like how does that work?  Why do they not have to go through the pain that us girls go through.  I want to be able to eat like them!!  I know I can eat that much, but my thighs will have to pay for it.

4.  I am trying this thing where I think mentally.  I was about to count sheep last night, but then instead I found myself going to sleep last night by saying, “I hate chocolate, I hate chocolate, I hate chocolate,” over and over.  Then today, I found myself eating an M&M cookie.  How the hell am I suppose to convince myself that I hate chocolate?

Thus if you really think about it, I am not dieting at all.  I am just eating way less with proportion controlled.  I still eat my dessert, but I just make sure to throw half of it away before I dig in.  (Yes, sometimes I cave in and go for another dessert which totally defeats the purpose of throwing away the other half because I end up with 1 and 1/2 dessert.)  And I am also exercising every day.  2 miles a day doesn’t hurt at all.

Gwyneth makes a great point.  Anyone can be skinny.  Anyone.  It just takes dedication at the gym or wherever.  There really is no great secret.  If you don’t exercise and eat healthier (or less in my case), you will be fat.  I hate to be blunt, but it’s true.  30% gym and 70% food.  Of course it’s easy to say, but it’s even harder to implement.

I just ran 4 miles today in 45 minutes.  Go me.  Let’s see how far this lasts.  I want to lose 10 pounds by Thanksgiving break.  Possible?  Perhaps.

Love,
C

2 responses to “My Great Thoughts on Dieting: College Girl Perspective

  1. I think losing 10 pounds by Thanksgiving is very doable. It’s safe to lose about 5 lbs a month, so if you really dedicate to achieving this goal, you can do it in a month and a half. Drink lots of tea/water, hit the gym, and don’t give up!

Leave a Reply

